Notice of the IBC Annual General Meeting 2024

Notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Barristers’ Clerks will take place on Monday 11th March 2023 at 6:30pm at No5, 5th Floor, 7 Savoy Court, London, WC2R 0EX.

For people who cannot attend physically there is a Zoom link you can obtain by emailing

Please can anyone attending in person email, so that we can ensure the correct facilities are in place.


1.            Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 13th March 2023: approved by Treasurer and Seconded by Chair

2.            Annual Report of the Institute presented by the Chair

3.            Treasurer’s Report
               i)         Statement of Accounts
               ii)        Forthcoming expenditure
               ii)        Election of Auditors
               iii)       Annual Subscriptions

4.            Consideration of proposed changes to IBC Rules (details to follow)

5.            Election of Officers of the Institute

               (1)          Chair*                                                               (2)          Vice-Chair
               (3)          Treasurer*                                                       (4)          Common Law Secretary*              
               (5)          Chancery Secretary*                                     (6)          Vice-Treasurer*
               (7)          Education                                                       (8)          Criminal Secretary

* Indicates Officers who will be standing for re-election to their current office.

An election will be held for the office of Vice-Chair.  Voting information will be provided to current IBC members next week and they will receive an email through ‘electionrunner’ to cast their vote.


6.            Election of Management Committee – Vacancy for: 

  1. 1 Regional Senior Clerk
  2. 1 Criminal Senior Clerk

7.            Any other business, subject to special notice ‘at least 14 days’ notice in writing’ having been given to the Chancery Secretary in accordance with Rule 14(v)

               (Committee Nomination Forms may be obtained on request from and completed forms must be received back by no later than 19th February 2024)

Lucy Burrows (Chancery Secretary) 16th February 2024